- Advertisement -
Creating a Google account is a very easy process, but many people don’t know how to delete a Google account permanently, in this article we will guide you on how to delete Google account permanently. Once you delete your email address, that specific address will not be made available for any other use in the future.
How to delete Google account?
If you’re looking forward to deleting your Google account, you probably should download and save your data beforehand. With over 1.5 billion active Gmail users, nearly one person in every five on earth has a Google account. If you want to sever your ties, Google allows you an option to permanently delete your account.
Deleting your Google account will lead to permanently losing access to any site that requires a Google account login, like Gmail, Google Docs, Google Drive, and Google Photos. You’d be losing any content you purchased through Google Play or YouTube and your kiss your saved bookmarks in Google Chrome goodbye.
- Advertisement -
As soon as you delete your account, you will not be able to get it back, and no one else will ever be able to claim it, either. After understanding the implications of deleting your account, you can proceed with the given process.
Easy steps to delete a Google account?
An account can be deleted at any time. If you change your mind, however, you might not be able to recover it.
- Go to the site myaccount.google.com.
- To the left you’ll see Data and personalization, click on it.
- Scroll till you see Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.
- Click Delete a service or your account.
- Click on Delete your account.
What are the steps to save you important data?
It’s beneficial to download the data stored in your Google account before you delete, to save data that’s important.
- Open your Google account Dashboard.
- Click on Download your data.
- If you don’t want the data from a particular Google site, clear the checkmark for that. Or else, scroll to the bottom and click on Next Steps.
- Choose how you want to receive the data – via email or delivered to a Dropbox location – and then click Create archive.
Even after deleting the entire Google account, you can still have access to other Google Account services like Google Play, calendars, Google Drive, and more. In the future, if you want to sign in to the same account Gmail will ask for an alternate email address. It will also delete the complete history on Google Chrome.
- Advertisement -
Step-by-step guide to delete Google account:
- First, you need to sign in to your Google account on Google.com.
- On the top right-hand corner, you’ll see a grid icon,click and select “Account”.
- Click “Delete your account or services” which is under the “Account Preferences” option.
- Select “Delete products”.
- Enter your password.
- It is recommended to download data from your account because you can’t retrieve it once deleted permanently. To download click “Download Data” to save any important data from being permanently erased.
- Next to Gmail, you’ll see a trash icon ,click on it.
- It will ask you to enter an alternate email address. The alternate email address must be accessible, it is necessary to continue deleting your account.
- Select “Send Verification Email”.
- You’ll receive an email from Google to your alternate email.
- Open the deletion link that you received to an alternate email and follow the instructions.
- Log into your alternate Gmail account to get the deletion link.
- Then click on “Yes, I want to delete (enter your Gmail address here )@gmail.com.”
- Click “Delete Gmail.” Then click “Done”.
Google Account Help website says, “If you use Gmail through your work, school, or other groups, contact your administrator.” Only the administrator of the account can delete the Gmail account.
Remember that if you select to receive the data via email, don’t delete your account until after you’ve secured the data, or it will be deleted with your account. If you liked this article (or if it helped at all), please leave a comment below or share it with friends, so that they can also know how to delete their Google Account.