Thursday, November 30
How to watch Marvel movies in order? Complete List of Movies
How to watch Marvel movies in order? Complete List of Movies

If you’re wondering, how can you watch Marvel movies in order, it is way more complicated than it has ever been. You have now got 25 movies along with a handful of TV shows, which contribute towards your Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) marathon, with more to come before 2021 is officially finished. Thankfully, you have us to help you navigate through this ever-growing superhero universe.

First, you have to decide whether you’re going to watch the Marvel movies chronologically. OR In their Release order. No matter what list you follow, both currently end with Shang-Chi and the Legends of the Ten Rings. The 25th Marvel movie will be screening on Disney Plus from November 12.

This article will show you how to watch the Marvel movies in both orders, including the 3 MCU shows. We will be breaking down the MCU timeline as it stands, meaning all you need to do is enjoy watching them.

After an imposed pandemic break in 2020, Marvel is having a busy 2021. As Black Widow, Shang-Chi, Marvel’s The Eternals are already out for viewing, along with Spider-Man: No Way Home rolling out before the end of the year, Phase 4 is in high gear.

Marvel has announced a major delay regarding several movies in Phase 4: Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness release is pushed to early May instead of March; Thor: Love and Thunder now released in July instead of May; and Black Panther 2: Wakanda Forever is pushed from July to November. The Marvel Ant-Man 3 is pushed back as well.

You can binge all these superhero movies while waiting for the newer releases? The Marvel movie’s chronological order kicks off with Captain America’s fight against Red Skull. MCU’s release order starts with Tony Stark becoming Iron Man in the 2008 movie. Whichever you pick, it’ll be a fun ride throughout.

How to watch Marvel movies in order? Complete List of Movies
Complete List of Marvel Movies

You can watch Marvel movies in chronological order by following the below-given list

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (occurs during the second World War)
  • Captain Marvel (in 1995)
  • Iron Man (in 2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (after Iron Man)
  • The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers)
  • Thor (six months before Avengers)
  • The Avengers (in 2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (six months after The Avengers movie)
  • Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (sometime in 2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (in 2015)
  • Ant-Man (takes place in 2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Black Widow (right after Civil War)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)
  • Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016)
  • Black Panther (takes place in 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarök (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (fits between IW and Endgame)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2017-2022)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (eight months post-Endgame)
  • Shang-Chi (present day)
  • Eternals

Though Black Widow, Spider-Man: Homecoming, Black Panther, and Doctor Strange all are taking place at roughly the same time, they have to be arranged in an order. Black Widow, technically takes place entirely within the events of Captain America: Civil War, thus it comes first.

Shang-Chi director Destin Daniel Cretton confirmed that this movie takes place in “present-day” MCU making it the most recent release as well as last movie to watch in order.

Watch Marvel TV shows in this order

  • WandaVision (three weeks after Endgame)
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (roughly around six months after Endgame)
  • Loki (technically post-The Avengers in 2012, but for the best viewing experience watch after Endgame)

The ORDER as per release date

Phase 1

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Marvel’s The Avengers (2012)

Phase 2

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase 3

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarök (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Phase 4

  • WandaVision (a Disney+ TV show)
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (a Disney+ TV show)
  • Loki (TV show)
  • Black Widow (2021)
  • Shang-Chi

If you are wondering how the movies you are currently watching are rated, the list provided below will help you. Best Marvel movies based on user scores from IMDb.

Marvel movies Rating by Rotten Tomatoes: Image Source: Reddit
Marvel movies Rating by Rotten Tomatoes: Image Source: Reddit
  • Avengers: Infinity War– Has a Rating: 8.4
  • Avengers: Endgame – Has a Rating: 8.4
  • The Avengers – Has a Rating: 8.0
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Has a Rating: 8.0
  • Iron Man (2008) – Has a Rating: 7.9
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings – Has a Rating: 7.9
  • Thor: Ragnarök (2017) – Has a rating: 7.9
  • Captain America: Civil War– Has a Rating: 7.8
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier– Has a Rating: 7.7
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 – Has a Rating: 7.6
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home – Has a Rating: 7.5
  • Doctor Strange – Has a Rating: 7.5
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming – Has a Rating: 7.4
  • Black Panther – Has a Rating: 7.3
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron– Has a Rating: 7.3
  • Ant-Man – Has a Rating: 7.3
  • Iron Man 3 – Has a Rating: 7.2
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp – Has a Rating: 7.1
  • Thor – Has a Rating: 7.0
  • Iron Man 2 – Has a Rating: 7.0
  • Captain America: The First Avenger – Has a Rating: 6.9
  • Thor: The Dark World – Has a Rating: 6.9
  • Captain Marvel – Has a Rating: 6.9
  • Black Widow – Has a Rating: 6.8
  • The Incredible Hulk– Has a Rating: 6.7

We have provided you both the chronological and release date orders as well as the ratings for the movies, choose which one to follow, and start away. If you liked this article (or if it helped at all), leave a comment below or share it with friends, so they can also know How can you watch Marvel movies in order?

Avatar photo

Aah, I see you’re here now, looks like I finally managed to capture your attention. If you’ve come all the way here then why don’t you follow my social accounts, so that you can be on this journey with me? Say what?

Comments are closed.