Before knowing if you are blocked by someone on WhatsApp you should understand what Whatsapp is and how does it work. WhatsApp is a chatting, phone, as well as a photo-sharing app that is used by hundreds of millions of people all around the world. So, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that WhatsApp lets its users block people whom they don’t want to hear from anymore.
Blocking someone on WhatsApp might just be the best way to stop unwanted people from calling or messaging you. However, if you happen to be the one who’s been blocked, how can you tell?
Unfortunately, there is no direct way you can find out if you have been blocked on WhatsApp. However, there are hints that you can use to figure that out.
If you think someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you can go through the checklist below to see if your hunch is true.
Quick suggestion: If you do find out that someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, the best action you can take is to leave them alone. If you are repeatedly trying to contact someone who’s blocked you can constitute harassment.
You will notice these if you are blocked by Someone on WhatsApp
You won’t be able to see a contact’s ‘last seen’ status
The first thing that has to be done is check the user’s “last seen” status. This is a message that updates whenever that particular user opens WhatsApp and tells you the last time they used WhatsApp.
If you are not able to see one, you might have been blocked. There is also a possibility that the user might have just disabled the feature on their account.
You won’t be able to see a contact’s new profile picture
If someone has blocked you, then changes their profile picture, you will not be able to see the new profile picture. You will always see the image which was there was when you got blocked.
This means that there isn’t a definite way to tell if they’re updating their profile picture. But if you know this contact updated their picture often, and now they’ve suddenly stopped, that’s a sign that you’ve been blocked.
Your messages will only show one checkmark
WhatsApp utilizes checkmark symbols to track the messages. One checkmark symbol next to your message means that it has been sent, while the two checkmarks indicate that it has been received.
When you message someone who’s blocked you, the second checkmark will never show up. If you are connected to the internet, despite that your message still never gets delivered, there is a good chance that you’re blocked.
Your calls will fail
You won’t be able to call anyone that has blocked you. When you try, your call will not go through.
You won’t be able to add the contact to a WhatsApp group
If you try to include the contact that you think blocked you in a WhatsApp group, and you get a message saying you aren’t permitted to add them to your group, that is the surest sign that you are blocked.
If you liked this article (or if it helped at all), leave a comment below or share it with friends, so they can also know 5 Ways to tell that you are Blocked by someone on WhatsApp.