It is okay to take a break from social media but before you delete Twitter account permanently you need to deactivate it first, after deactivating, Twitter gives you 30-days time, during that window, you can decide if you want to delete your account permanently or if you would like to just deactivate it temporarily.
Deactivating means your username and profile will not appear on the Twitter website or app. After deactivating your account you should remember not to use your Twitter account to log in or sign in to any other applications on your device.
Deactivate Twitter Account:
Tap on the More icon and then click on Settings and Privacy.
Select Your account tab, and hit Deactivate your Account.
Read the information about account deactivation, then hit Deactivate.
There it will ask you to enter the password and then confirm that you want to proceed by clicking Deactivate account.
Delete Twitter account:
After the 30-day deactivation period, your Twitter account is permanently deleted. If you didn’t log into your Twitter account in that period Twitter will assume that the user wants to delete his/her account. Once it is deleted it will no longer be available on Twitter’s server and can’t even be able to reactivate once that period is over.
Things To Remember Before deactivating Your Account:
Here are a few things that you need to remember before deactivate or deleting your Twitter account:
- If you delete your Twitter account you can still see your Twitter information in your search engines like Bing, Google, Yahoo, etc, because Twitter doesn’t have control over those sites.
- Even after you delete your Twitter account if someone mentioned you in a post that will still appear.
- To change your username and email associated with your Twitter you don’t have to delete your account, just simply go to Account information to change anytime.
- If you log in to your Twitter account within the 30-day period after deactivation you can easily reactivate your account.
- You can download all your Twitter data by requesting for download before deactivating your account. Deactivation won’t remove your data from Twitter systems.