- Advertisement -
When you browse in Incognito mode it is expected for users to expect it to be not tracked. But shockingly Google revealed they’re still tracking you in Incognito mode. Let us take a dive into what actually happens and how it works? Incognito mode is an optional feature in your browsers that is nothing but Private browsing. As you know if you are using a browser in normal mode you can see the browser’s history and cookies will be saved and that will make it easier when you are browsing next time. The companies are providing the browsers for free in return they will collect your browsing data recommend ads basing on your history.
What happens when you browse in Incognito Mode?
If you switch to incognito mode the browser will create an instant mode where the browsing history and local data associated with that particular time are not saved into the browser when the browser is closed. The primary reason for this mode is, the data and browsing history associated with that particular user will no longer be saved in your browser.
How to turn on Incognito mode?
If you open a new Incognito tab on your browser, there you are creating a new session for browsing, that session will be terminated when you close all the tabs on your device.
- Advertisement -
In this mode, none of your activity on the browser like history, site data, the information you entered on any website, and cookies, will be saved on your device, which means you can’t see any of the data that you entered in incognito mode will not be shown in your browser’s history. If you are signed in to any website those data will also be not saved when are using your browser in incognito mode. But, your Internet provider, school, or any parental tracking software may be able to watch your activity.
What data is stored while you are browsing?
Here, the data is created by Web browsing history, it is a list of web pages that the user has visited, usually, the data is stored in web browsers to provide the user a better experience and suggestions by saving the data like previously visited places, browsing habits, interests, and needs of the user.
How to browse safely?
Many major browsers have a private browsing option or incognito mode, where the browsing history is not stored to protect data being collected by your browser or third parties for advertising purposes.
You simply need to follow these simple steps to browse safely:
- Keep your browser and drivers updated.
- Block Pop-ups
- Use an adblocker if it is possible.
- Enable the “do not track” option on your browser.
- Clear your web browser cache and cookies.
- Switch to private browsing.
- Use a VPN.
- Keep firewall and antivirus up-to-date.
- Use a password manager.
Using the Internet in the Incognito or private mode is better but, it is always recommended to use VPN when you are dealing with confidential data and projects. VPN helps you to create a safe and secure connection between you and the internet. Through this connection, your browsing data traffic is the pipeline to an encrypted virtual tunnel that can make your location invisible to other users and secure you from cyberattacks.